Michele Faucci Giannelli

Favourite Thing: Travel to conference Discuss with poeple



Università degli studi di Pisa, Liceo Scientifico “E. Fermi”


PhD in Particle Physics.

Work History:

2012-2013 Senior Software Developer and Team Leader at Fiscal Technologies, 2010-2012 Analyst Programmer at Tessella, 2009-2010 Research Associate at the Laboratoire de l’Accélérateur Linéaire (LAL)

Current Job:

Marie Curie IEF Research Associate at Royal Holloway University of London


Royal Holloway University of London

Me and my work

I analyse the ATLAS data looking for rare Higgs interactions

My Typical Day

Write code in the morning, meeting in early afternoon and discussion with PhD students in the evening.

What I'd do with the money

Build a new experiment for science fairs and open days. Probably build with LEGO!

My Interview

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Michele Faucci Giannelli

Who is your favourite singer or band?


What's your favourite food?


What is the most fun thing you've done?

What did you want to be after you left school?


Were you ever in trouble at school?


What was your favourite subject at school?


What's the best thing you've done as a scientist?

What or who inspired you to become a scientist?

The summer studentship I did during my third of University, that’s when I discovered what being a scientisti means and that I like it.

If you weren't a scientist, what would you be?

I have been a software developer and a team leaser but if I had not done Physics at University I probably would be either an ingeneer or an accountant

If you had 3 wishes for yourself what would they be? - be honest!

Health, money, fame

Tell us a joke.

Other stuff

Work photos: